Confused on Steam Play and Proton? Be sure to check out our guide.
New to linux - just want a little advice about drivers. AMD
akirru Jul 9, 2015
I'm new to linux (mint). I'm really enjoying it so far and I moved from windows 8.1. I don't like the direction Microsoft were going with windows and I wanted to try something else.
I consider myself a very technically able person and I can learn new things pretty quickly. I have mint set up and everything is going great. I expected to see a drop in performance when gaming on linux.. especially on AMD.
The question I have is about AMD drivers. From what I gather the opensource xorg is better for 2d and the proprietary amd drivers are better for gaming.
I hear about other things such as combining the opensource and amd driver or MESA?!
Can anyone explain this to me :) I currently use the AMD proprietary 15.7 driver.
Thanks
Samsai Jul 9, 2015
There is such a thing called amdgpu. It's essentially an open source base that will eventually be able to run the AMD proprietary components on top of it. Alternatively you can also run the fully open source Mesa stack on that driver. Currently the driver is still very much WIP and only support the open source radeonsi component.

The way I have interpreted it is that the proprietary components aren't really working with the Mesa drivers but they co-exist on the same kernel driver and Catalyst is isolated into user-space. I think that could improve stability on Catalyst because if it goes down it shouldn't take the whole kernel with it.

From user's point of view I assume not much is going to change. It will probably make maintaining the driver a bit easier for the AMD devs so they could maybe put more resources towards optimizing the Catalyst component.
Liam Dawe Jul 9, 2015
It depends what AMD chip you're talking about really, as there are differing levels of support for the open source driver. A lot of people can use just the open source driver for older chips for example.