Every article tag can be clicked to get a list of all articles in that category. Every article tag also has an RSS feed! You can customize an RSS feed too!
God is a Cube - Programming Puzzle Game - Porting my game to Linux before launch
King Kadelfek Dec 10, 2015

Hello everybody,

I am a video game developer who wants to support Linux before launch, and to do that I have to be sure it's working on as many configurations than possible. I'm talking to various Linux communities, and today I'm coming here (got The Boss permission for a topic) to show you my game and gather feedback, both on Linux specific issues and the game itself.

Following earlier Linux users feedback, I had to change 3 times some of the technology used by the game (which relies heavily on data access such as SQLite) to allow maximum cross platform compatibility. It represents several years of work avoiding all external dependencies, especially all those easy and ready to use Windows DLL.

I am now looking for people confirming me the game is working on their Linux configuration. If you can go up to the tutorial without any problem, so it means it should works fine until the end of the game.

For those interested, it's a programming puzzle game called God is a Cube, involving nanomachines (small robots): you use simple symbols to program those robots and make them do stuff.

Using a wall detector and logical gates, the Divine Cube turns right when he encounters a wall.

Detecting if there is a floor below, the Divine cube creates matter to make a bridge.

View video on youtube.com

The game is in a late Alpha stage, and there are around 50 levels split up into 5 different themes with their own difficulty curve.
You can see more stuff at the official website:
http://www.godisacube.com

Download
You can download the game here:
http://godisacube.com/latest_linux
(and here for Windows and Mac