Confused on Steam Play and Proton? Be sure to check out our guide.
Thinking about going AMD
GNUzel Jun 17, 2016
So as many of you know, SLI is not good on Linux. I've tried doing some research on the subject and only found a few sad threads about how it's not supported well. I have a GTX 690 I purchased before I started playing with Linux. Now I mostly only use Linux, except for a couple of games I couldn't resist. Unfortunately, the GTX 690 is a multi-gpu card, so it uses two gpus in SLI basically, and since Linux doesn't support that, I basically just have the performance of a 680. A very expensive 680. I don't even think it's as good as the 680 is on Linux, honestly. On Rust I get like 5 frames. Even on a GTX 950m on Linux, I got 15 FPS.

Recently AMD announced the RX 480 at a very good price point of only $200 USD which I'm thinking of purchasing. How has AMD been lately with their current cards?

Thank you in advance for any replies, fellow penguins!
GNUzel Jun 17, 2016
Thanks for the reply damarrin. Looks like AMD is still lagging behind Nvidia. The 1080 did look amazing. I'm sure the 1070 will be impressive too. I think they're also single gpu too. I'm gonna wait for the benchmarks for the RX 480 anyway, but thank you for this link!
Liam Dawe Jun 17, 2016
I would for sure wait until the new AMD GPU's drop, as they will not only be decent cards, but older cards should become cheaper.

On top of that, I would wait for their new driver system to mature a little more.
PublicNuisance Jun 17, 2016