How porting works?
Purple Pudding Jul 13, 2016
I'm new to Linux (you know that) and I've never thought of "porting" before switching to it for gaming too...

Can you explain me in detailed but easy way how porting an application (game) from Windows to Linux works? I'm not trying to port one myself, it's far too complex for me(for now) but I'm just curious...

Many thanks to everyone!

PP

P.S.: Personal experiences from "porters" (how can I call the people who port?) are welcome!
wojtek88 Jul 14, 2016
I'm not in the game industry, so I may say something that someone will consider wrong, so @guys feel free to correct me. But anyway, I'm a programmer, but will try to give you some more general version:

Each application on some low-level layer of the application call OS-specific code. As mirv said, it can be with graphics, audio, some system functions calls, etc.
Porting of the application is the process of making sure, that all the code that is one-platform specific, is rewritten to work for other platform as well (It can be OS-specific code, or code shared by both OS-s).

The problem is, that it sounds like a simple task, but in reality it isn't. Not every project has nice layered structure, not each module is easy to port, and what's most important - it is not always one to one function mapping from one OS to other OS.

And if you wonder about games port, you should keep in mind that all the middleware applies to what was said above. But there is other, very important part - Graphical API porting.
Regarding Graphical API there are 2 things you should keep in mind - most of the games those days are written in some game engines. Some of them are written in-house, some of them are 3rd party engines. Of course there are some indie games that are written without game engines, but I guess it's not so popular those days.